EU Calls for Proposals for EuropAID Funding

EuropeAid has opened a call of proposals for the ACP-EU Cooperation Programme in Science and Technology II (S&T II). The program originates from the need for joint and systematic ACP-EU approaches in support of science, technology and innovation (STI). The deadline for submission of proposals is February 7, 2013. IANPHI member institutes from African, Caribbean and Pacific countries are encouraged to apply with European partners.

For IANPHI member institutes, the most important of the global objectives of this call for proposals is to enhance the use of STI as a key enabler for poverty reduction, growth and socio-economic development. Program priorities are in the fields of energy access and efficiency as well as agriculture and good security. However, other sectors and/or interdisciplinary approaches are not excluded as long as the foreseen actions and activities are in line with the objectives of the program.

The program will prioritize actions that employ interdisciplinary and participatory approaches, contribute to the development of appropriate technologies, favor endogenous learning processes and increase ACP countries' and communities' resilience to internal as well as external shocks.
Actions must take place in one or more ACP member states as listed in Annex K, List of Eligible Countries. A limited number of activities may be carried out in non-ACP counties, in particular if one or more of the partners are from outside the ACP region, as long as the location is justified and they clearly benefit ACP countries.

Applicants must act with partner organisations as follows:
• The partnership must involve at least three partners, including the applicant.
• The partnership must involve partners from at least two different ACP states as defined in the list of eligible countries
• The number of partners from the ACP states (EU member countries and candidate countries and Iceland, Liechtenstein, Norway) must be greater than the number of partners from non-ACP states.

Other organisations may be involved in the action. Such associates play a real role in the action but may not receive funding from the grant with the exception of per diem or travel costs.

Further information about the call in English and in French can be found on the EuropeAid webpage, reference EuropeAid/133437/D/ACT/Multi.

Countries eligible to participate are listed below (IANPHI members highlighted).

Eastern Africa: Burundi, Comoros, Djibouti, Eritrea, Ethiopia, Kenya, Madagascar, Mauritius, Rwanda, Seychelles, Somalia, Sudan, Tanzania, and Uganda.

Central Africa: Cameroon, Central African Rep., Chad, Congo, Democratic Rep. of Congo, Equatorial Guinea, Gabon, Sao Tome & Principe.

Western Africa: Benin, Burkina-Faso, Cape Verde, Côte d'Ivoire, Gambia, Ghana, Guinea, Guinea Bissau, Liberia, Mali, Mauritania, Niger, Nigeria, Senegal, Sierra Leone, Togo.

Southern Africa: Angola, Botswana, Lesotho, MalawiMozambique, Namibia, South Africa, Swaziland, Zambia, and Zimbabwe.

Caribbean: Antigua and Barbuda, Bahamas, Barbados, Belize, Cuba, Dominica, Dominican Republic, Grenada, Guyana, Haiti, Jamaica, Saint Kitts and Nevis, Saint Lucia, Saint Vincent and Grenadines, Suriname, Trinidad and Tobago.

Pacific: Cook Islands, Fiji, Kiribati, Marshall Islands, Micronesia, Nauru, Niue, Palau,Papua New Guinea, Samoa, Solomon Islands, Timor Leste, Tonga, Tuvalu, Vanuatu.

27 EU member states
Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, Cyprus, Czech Republic, DenmarkEstonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Ireland, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, PolandPortugal, Romania, Netherlands, Slovakia, SloveniaSpain, Sweden, United Kingdom.

3 EEA EFTA states
Iceland, Liechtenstein, Norway

4 official EU candidate countries
Croatia, former Yugoslav Rep. of Macedonia, Turkey, Montenegro