IANPHI Approves New Members

Four institutes were approved as members of IANPHI during the organizations Annual Meeting this week in Johannesburg, South Africa. That brings IANPHI’s membership to 68, representing more than 60 percent of the nations in the world.

  • Angola - Instituto Nacional de Saúde Pública
  • India - The National Institute of Communicable Disease
  • Kosova - National Institute of Public Health of Kosova
  • Myanmar - National Health Laboratory
 IANPHI also has announced nominations to fill open slots on its Executive Board. The following slate will be voted on at IANPHI’s annual meeting Nov. 1-4 in Johannesburg, South Africa:

  • Jeffrey Koplan, director of the Emory University Global Health Institute and former director of the U.S. CDC (president, incumbent).
  • Marc Sprenger, RIVM, Netherlands (returning member).
  • Barry Schoub, South African National Institute for Communicable Diseases (new member).
  • Mohammed Hassar, Institute Pasteur, Morocco (returning member)
The slate was developed by a nominating committee composed of these EB members: Paulo Buss, president, FIOCRUZ, Brazil; Tsehaynesh Messele, director general, Ethiopian Health and Nutrition Research Institute: Pathom Sawanpanyalert, director, Thailand National Institute of Health; Geir Stene-Larsen, director general, Norwegian Institute of Public Health; Koplan; and Vice President Pekka Puska, director general, National Institute for Health and Welfare (THL), Finland.